Book Review: Small Great Things

Small Great ThingsSmall Great Things by Jodi Picoult

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

My experience with Jodi Picoult’s novels has been hit or miss. Small Great Things, however, was a home run and it stayed with me long after I put the book down.

Like many of Picoult’s novels, Small Great Things is told from two perspectives. One is a white supremacist whose son has died and the other is the black nurse who was tending to the boy at the time of his demise. Both accounts are terribly difficult to read and Picoult has done an amazing job bringing both sides of the argument to life. There were times that I had no choice but to sympathize with a man over the loss of his son. Two pages later, I found myself repulsed by his words and actions. It was an intense read.

As always, Picoult has done her research. The medical facts and legal notes stick to reality relentlessly making for a powerful story. I applaud her for the digging she did into the White Supremacist psyche. I know that could not have been easy.

This is a book that cannot be ignored in this day and age. It’s important to understand each other, even when the other side is spouting hate and nonsense, there is a human underneath the doctrine. I’m not expecting this book to change the world, but it certainly presents the human side of people that seem entirely un-human. This book is a must read across the board.

Speak Your Mind!

