#Why I March

On Wednesday, I fell on the ice and tore some cartilage in my knee so unfortunately, I can’t be out in the street marching today.  I desperately wish I could be there physically but I am 100% there in spirit.

So, why do I march?  Well…

I march for those who are marginalized.  I march for those who are forgotten.  I march for those who are alone.  I march for those who are afraid.  I march for peace and justice and all that is good and loving in this world.

I consider myself to be a patriot, though maybe not in the way Trump thinks I should be.

I deeply believe in the American values of equality for ALL people regardless of race, creed, religion, gender identity, or sexuality.  I believe in America as a melting pot, once revered for welcoming the poor, huddled masses.  I believe that America IS already great and her spirit is indomitable.

I believe in America. I’m afraid for my country in this dark hour, but we’ve always been strongest when tested. We will weather this storm.

It will be a rough four years and we will not be the same in the end. I do not know if we will be better or worse but I am hopeful that, if we work together, we will all be alright.

One comment

  1. If nothing else good comes from the next four years, I hope it will bring Americans together again, and give voices to those who have been letting everyone else have their “say” for them. We are a great nation, and I think we need our complacency rattled occasionally, to remind us of our heritage, and that our voices count. As you stated, if we all work together, we will be alright.

Speak Your Mind!

