Overheard in Starbucks

Barista 1: Oh my God, you guys.  I am seriously so tired today.  I don’t know what my issue is.  I don’t drink coffee and I’ve had two shots of espresso and it’s still not working for me.

Barista 2: Hey, all!  I’m tossing this coffee that’s been sitting.  I’m going to make fresh Pike Roast to replace it.

Barista 1: RACHEL!  There are tired people in this world.  Why are you throwing out coffee!?


I love snippets of conversations.  It is one of my favorite things about life.  I don’t people watch.  I listen.  I grab little bits of things strangers say to each other and throw them into the mouths of my own creations when I write.  It makes my characters feel more tangible and real.  But when they say these silly things I hear on the street they also bring me back to a rainy day on the subway or a bright summer morning at the coffee shop.  In a way, they help me remember the insignificant moments that I too often take for granted.

So don’t stop and smell the roses.  Listen to the voices around you and see if you can’t find your character’s next quip.

2 comments

Speak Your Mind!

