Finding Myself Again Through Photography

6462862247_3bb67a6423_b_by_innatelykait-d7btqdfI’m tired of recycling old photographs. I’m also tired of never having enough “me time” due to work, school, and family. This can only mean one thing: It’s time to pick up my camera again.

I really do miss it. Photography centered me. Through it I found patience and endurance. I could sit in the heat or the cold and be so focused on my craft that I was unaffected by my surroundings. I would wait for the sun to hit the water in just the right way or the wind to blow a petal into
the perfect position.

I felt no need to rush through and be done with it. I felt peaceful in a wayrainbow_over_colorado_springs_by_innatelykait-d7khsdw that I haven’t been able to recapture since I pack up my gear for the last time. Now it feels like my life is moving at 100mph and I can’t see the road anymore. I’m missing things because I’m always in a hurry.

I’m done with that. It’s time to enjoy the wind blowing in my face. It’s time to see the sunlight hit the lake. It’s time to pick up my camera and remember why I got into photography in the first place.

It’s time to find myself again.

2 comments

  1. Congrats! You have something to ground you, and it will help you follow through on all the other things you are working on, as a result. My daughter suggested another title for your picture of the battling birds, so I Pinned it and called it “there can be only one!” Love the picture!!

Speak Your Mind!

