Book Review: Bad Habits: Confessions of a Recovering Catholic

Bad Habits: Confessions of a Recovering CatholicBad Habits: Confessions of a Recovering Catholic by Jenny McCarthy

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

You’d think I’d have little in common with a woman who wanted to be a nun and then became a playboy bunny. You’d be wrong. Jenny McCarthy is a “Recovering Catholic” with just the right amount of sarcasm and far too many questions for the Catholic church.

I also wanted to be a nun when I was younger. I did not aspire to be a playboy bunny but that’s besides the point. I grew up Catholic and left the faith as an adult. Teachers didn’t like the fact that I was so…questiony. I speak two languages: English and Sarcasm. This book is my spirit animal.

I giggled like a fool when I was reading about how Jenny went from a fun loving little girl who loved the Lord to being absolutely terrified to do anything wrong…Finally she comes to the realization that Catholicism has a huge number of, shall we say, loopholes? Then the questions started and never stopped.

When I began kindergarten I was a bright-eyed, God-loving little girl. It took about two weeks to fully convince me God was spying on my every move and He was just looking for the right minute to smote me. Needless to say, my already anxious little self instantly became neurotic about not sinning.

I relived every moment of my thirteen years of Catholic education with this book. Even the time after high school when I was out on my own and making terrible choices–God saw them but did I (should I) care? Hell no!

This book pretty much covered my entire life: from the innocent nun I wanted to be to the questioning hormone-driven teenager all the way to the wayward adult I am now. I loved almost every minute of it (I could have done without the random autism chapters at the end but that is McCarthy’s M.O.) and I highly recommend this book to anyone who lists their religion as “Recovering Catholic.”

Speak Your Mind!

