Friday Fodder: Freud at his Finest or I Love Alliterations

I had the craziest dream the other night.

I owned my own business. It was in a building that can best be described as a Home Depot. The entire ceiling looked like Home Depot’s lighting department and the floor was that weird polished concrete stuff.

We sold awful copies of Cycladic sculpture. The walls were covered, and I’m talking floor to warehouse ceiling, with Renaissance art paintings. There were shelves (made of poplar planks and cinder blocks mind you) that stored alarm clocks and Brita water pitchers. It was an eclectic collection to say the least.

I noticed a middle-aged woman browsing alarm clocks and I went over to help her. I asked her what kind of clock she was looking for while doing my best Barker’s Beauty impression to show off the wonders of an alarm clock that played CDs. The woman opened her mouth to answer me and I was shocked to discover she only spoke Classical Latin and I know no idea what she was trying to tell me.

Then my own alarm clock went off and it was time to start the day.

Let’s put this dream into context and unpack this a bit, shall we?

I suffered through this terrible dream from Tuesday night into Wednesday morning. First thing Wednesday morning I had a Latin exam. I didn’t spend as much time studying for that as I should have because I was also studying for a much larger Renaissance art history exam later that same day.

I’m going to take a moment now and psychoanalyze myself using Freud’s techniques:

My biggest concern was that I wouldn’t be able to translate the Latin paragraphs on my exam. The Renaissance paintings were in the background meaning that I was worried but it wasn’t a man concern. The water pitchers have to do with my subconscious fear of getting another

kidney stone. I have no idea why the Cycladic sculptures were hanging around…perhaps just because they were grotesque in their production serving to make the dream that much weirder.

See, people…your dreams DO have hidden messages in them. This one was just, you know, not so hidden.

And this post has nothing to do with alliteration. I just like titles with alliterations. Sorry for leading you on with that one.

Speak Your Mind!

