Pigs Will Never Learn to Sing: A Call for Courtesy

Warning: Contains Graphic Literary Content

I know I will inevitably step on some toes with this post. I have done it before and I will do it again. I can’t help myself as I am a stubborn and outspoken young woman. So let’s just get this show on the road, shall we?

I was walking to the student center on campus today when I was bombarded by images of dead fetuses. Yes, I said it. Dead fetuses. The Pro-Lifers were on campus today in all their gruesome glory.

As a veterinary technician, it goes without saying that I do not get disgusted very easily. Therefore, the images of these dead fetuses do not disturb me the way some people might be. What does disturb me is the way they propagate false information to so many people.

I heard one of these supporters telling another person about a “friend of a friend of a friend’s girlfriend.” Apparently she got pregnant and decided to have an abortion. Well, the abortionist turned on the ultrasound to show her what he was doing in her uterus and she was horrified to see the fetus in her screaming at the doctor was sucking it apart. When the procedure was finished, the woman was forced to look upon her screaming fetus in a jar before leaving.

It was upsetting to hear this story. It was upsetting because none of it is true. Doctors do not routinely use ultrasounds during abortions. Fetuses do not scream. There are no body parts in jars at the end of the procedure. It just doesn’t work that way.

Here’s the thing. You can’t teach a pig to sing. It only wastes your time and annoys the pig.

The pro-lifers can show me all the dead fetus photos they want. The pro-lifers can tell me all the stories about screaming fetuses that they want. They are not going to change my pro-choice stance. Likewise, I can stand out there and tell them why their dead fetus photos are fake and why fetuses don’t scream until I am blue in the face. I know that won’t change their pro-life stance either. In the end we will part ways and neither of us will be more enlightened than when we met.

So, while I believe they should use facts over scare tactics, I am not going to stop them from protesting or using their right to free speech. They can talk to whomever will listen and I won’t stop them. However, when I say I am not interested I expect the courtesy of being left alone.  Mutual respect for each other’s differences and some common courtesy towards one another will go a long way.

Remember, you cannot teach a pig to sing. It will save us both time.

Speak Your Mind!

