New Directions

InnatelyKait Photography on Flickr

New Directions by InnatelyKait

My life is moving in a new direction. I am unsure of what is going to happen in the future. I have a plan but that one plan leaves so many open-ended opportunities that I don’t know what to do with them all.

I do know one thing: This is a new beginning and I cannot be happier.

My life is moving in a new direction and it is moving quickly.  On May 12th, I graduated from college with two degrees; an Associate of Applied Science — Veterinary Technology and an Associate of Arts — Liberal Studies.  It was by far one of the most amazing days of my life to date.  All of the work, effort, and struggle during the past two years finally came to fruition.  I had made it.

The celebration was short-lived, however.  That night, after a wonderful celebration with family and friends, my grandma was hospitalized with complications of congestive heart failure.  They were not life threatening, but they are an inevitable part of this horrible disease that has taken hold of my grandmother’s life over the past three years.  She is 94-years-old, ancient by some standards, and I have had an amazing 24 years with her on this earth.  Yet, I feel utterly unprepared for a future without her.  That will be another post entirely.

I had little time to fret over grandma because bright and early the day after graduation, my boyfriend and I were off on a 10 hour road trip to Minnesota to find a new home.  We are moving there to be closer to family and friends and with any luck, I will attend school there within the next few years.  After a grueling week of hunting, we found our new home.  It is a terrifying prospect for me.  I will be moving halfway across the country, away from everything I have ever known, to begin a new adventure and a new chapter of my story — exciting and intimidating at the same time.

Now we are back home and there is still no slow down in sight.  There are boxes to pack, farewell and graduation parties to attend, hospital visits, and studying for my national boards in veterinary technology.  This is where my new direction begins to intersect with the new direction of this blog.

Don’t Eat the Pickles & Other Stories is also going in a new direction.  I have noticed recently a significant decline in the subject matter and writing style of my posts.  When I last updated this blog with Marley’s Story, I realized that my writing is more thought out and more eloquent when I am writing about something that really matters to me.  Mindless updates just to keep followers around were not something I was proud of writing and I will not be “dropping by to say hello” anymore.  It is time for me to worry less about the quantity of my posts and more about the quality.

So that is where this blog is going.  I will most likely update less frequently but what I do write will be more from the heart.  I want to be proud of what I am writing and this is the way for me to do that.

2 comments

  1. Good luck!!! I’ve enjoyed everything you’ve written, but I can totally respect the direction you are taking.

    I just read your post about Marley today, and it brought me to tears. So sorry that you had to go through that back in April. My heart breaks for both of you, but I feel like you definitely made the right decision. A friend of mine (a vet tech, incidentally) made a similar decision about one of her own dogs several months ago. She knew, when she rescued him, that she would be his last chance, and, after trying therapy, medication, and SO much love and affection, she couldn’t, in her words, “fix this beautiful, broken dog”, and had to euthanize him, too. **hugs**

  2. Congrats on the graduation–the joys of new beginnings. I am sorry to hear about your grandmother. May you find the happiness and joy you seek and may your future words that you share with the world meet the standards and expectations you have set for yourself. Stay true to yourself and words.

Speak Your Mind!

