Hello, Again

InnatelyKait Photography on Flickr

Have you ever felt completely lost?  

Like you have no idea what path to follow so you choose one that looks good only to find out later it was wrong?

 Have you ever  felt like you were going in circles and there is no way out of the spiral?

Sometimes the feeling of being lost in the world is so completely overwhelming that giving up seems like the best option.

Don’t give up.  Slow down.  Look at your options.  Try to stay positive and make the best of what you’ve got.

It will all be okay in the end.

So, this is embarrassing.  I’ve been away from the blog so long that I’ve completely forgotten what drafts I have started, what I had previously blogged about, even what the blog looked like.  I have good reason though (at least in my opinion).  After working nearly 6 years, in 33 days I will finally have two college degrees (Associate degrees but at least I got there).

One of the main reasons it took me almost 6 years to get a 2 year degree was a lack of direction.  At 18, I thought I knew what I wanted to do.  I started down the path to get a 5 year accounting degree.  That later changed to a 4 year early childhood/elementary education degree.  I then discovered my passion for photography and started going in that direction.  Soon after I realized that none of these were the right path, but I wasn’t sure just what the correct road was.

Finally, my boyfriend and I sat down to discuss just where I was going.  I had to really sit back and think about my true passions in life when it dawned on me that animals have always been my first love.  Some of the memories are humorous, others are weird, but they all revolve around my desire to help animals in need, even at my own expense (financial and occasionally mental and emotional).

Over the next few days (or weeks as time permits) I plan to post a few of these heartwarming, adorable, and sometimes weird anecdotes for your reading pleasure.  I plan to write a reflection on how I discovered my desire to work with animals and why I didn’t notice it in the first place.  In the meantime, my advice to all you wandering youth (by that I mean undecided college majors) is to never give up on yourself.  Occasionally you may feel completely lost and overwhelmed with the choices ahead of you.  Sometimes, you really do have to stop (or at least slow down) and reflect when things seem too big or too broad.  Everyone has a calling, I really do believe that now.  You just have to listen to yourself to discover what that calling might be because let’s face it, nobody knows you better than You.

Speak Your Mind!

