Where’s the Light?

"Closing In" by InnatelyKait Photography

“Closing In”
InnatelyKait Photography
Copyright, 2009

Sometimes it feels like the walls are closing in on me.  All I can do to stay sane is keep thinking, “Isn’t there supposed to be a light at the end of this tunnel…?”

I knew that it would be a long, uphill battle when I was diagnosed with gluten intolerance.  However, the battle is far exceeding what I thought it would be.  I guess I was in denial about how difficult it would actually be.

I have still have my good days and bad days, at least now the good days usually out number the bad.  The real problem is I’m tired.

I’m tired of my stomach continuing to hurt.  I’m tired of reading labels. I’m tired of having to guess what weird ingredients might contain gluten.  I’m tired of not being able to order delivery pizza.  I’m tired of never being able to have a “quick, effortless meal.”  I’m tired that my special diet costs an arm and a leg.

I don’t mean to complain so much because I know that I am extremely lucky.  It is just difficult some days to stay positive.  I know that it will get better…eventually.

Sometimes, that small flicker of light and hope at the end of the tunnel seems so far away it is unattainable.

Speak Your Mind!

