Book Review: The Girl Who Couldn’t Say No

The Girl Who Couldn't Say NoThe Girl Who Couldn’t Say No by Tracy Engelbrecht

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I wasn’t sure what I was getting into with this book. Being a childless woman in her mid-twenties, I wasn’t sure how I would relate to a book about Tracy, who found out she was going to be a mom when she was fourteen. I figured it would just be another whiny tale about men’s trickery and the woes of being a teenage mom. I was dead wrong.

After finding out that she’s pregnant, Tracy just accepts the fact and moves on from there. With very little whining (aside from that caused by hormones), Tracy takes on her new role as mother with humor and guts. Basically, this is a story of a mother learning to be a mother. It doesn’t matter that she is only fourteen at the time, it is something many women can relate to, whether they have children or not.

There is a lot of profanity in this book, but the story would really lose an integral part without it. Tracy also has some very strong opinions about…well, everything, and this may offend the easily offended. I loved all of it though as it really made a woman I have never met seem like a best friend.

Tracy’s take on life, sex, motherhood, and everything in between is delightfully sarcastic, witty, and hilariously funny. Despite going into the book no knowing how I would relate, I discovered that I have a ridiculous amount in common with Tracy. After just one page, I was hooked and this turned out to be one of the best memoirs I’ve read in a long time. In a world inundated with self-absorbed memoirs by celebrities, this was a refreshing read.

View all my reviews

2 comments

Speak Your Mind!

