This is NOT Patriotism

Since today is Veteran’s Day I thought I’d make a somewhat patriotic post here.

First, I want to thank all the men and women of the military; past, present, and future.  Without their bravery, courage,  compassion, and determination America would not be what it is today: free.

With that, I segue into an issue I have with a certain county music song.  The song is by Toby Keith and it is titled “Courtesy of the Red, White and Blue.”  I’ve included the lyrics below for your viewing pleasure.

I plan on joining the Army after I finish graduate school.  This song seriously makes me reconsider my thoughts every time it is played.  My reason for wanting to join the military have absolutely nothing to do with revenge, blowing up terrorists and creating havoc on people who don’t deserve it simply because of race or religion.  I want to join because I believe in a greater good, a worldwide cause, and the opportunities the military could grant me as far as education and life lessons.  I do want to protect the people of this country but of other countries also, regardless of race, religion, money, or any other differences we may have.

This song is supposed to be patriotic but it goes against everything I believe the military stands for and it is the opposite of why I would want to join the military.

And you’ll be sorry that you messed with/The US of A/Cuz we’ll put a boot in your ass/It’s the American way./And the Eagle will fly, and it’s gonna to be hell/When you hear Mother Freedom start ringing her bell/And it’ll feel like the whole wide world’s raining down on you./Brought to you courtesy of the red, white, and blue.

These few lines are the worst and the main reason why I can’t stand the song.  Yes, September 11th was an awful, unfortunate event that should not have happened.  There is no excusing the pain and hurt that was caused by those attacks, but they could have been prevented.

I am very grateful to the men and women who went to fight for America’s continued freedom after 9/11.  However, we cannot expect bad things to never happen until we as a country stop putting boots up the asses of other countries.  Until America can play fair and stop pissing everybody else off bad things may still happen.

If they do happen, I will stand up for my country as a member of the Armed Forces.  Just don’t play that song and expect me to be happy about it.  I’m still joining for the greater good of America, not to bust some terrorist ass.  Thanks.

American girls, and american guys
We’ll always stand up and salute
We’ll always recognize
When we see old glory flyin’
There’s a lot of men dead
So we can sleep in peace at night
When we lay down our head.

My daddy served in the Army
Where he lost his right eye
But he flew a flag out in our yard
‘Til the day that he died
He wanted my mother, my brother,
My sister and me to grow up
And live happy in the land of the free

Now this nation that I love
Has fallen under attack
A sucker punch came flyin’
From somewhere in the back
As soon as we could see clearly
Through our big black eye
Man we lit up your world
Like the fourth of July.

And Uncle Sam put your name at the top of his list
And the Statue of Liberty started shaking her fist
And the Eagle will fly, and it’s gonna to be hell
When you hear Mother Freedom start ringing her bell
And it’ll feel like the whole wide world’s raining down on you.
Brought to you courtesy of the red, white, and blue.

Justice will be served
And the battle will rage
This big dog will fight
When you rattle his cage
And you’ll be sorry that you messed with
The US of A
Cuz we’ll put a boot in your ass
It’s the American way.

And Uncle Sam put your name at the top of his list
And the Statue of Liberty started shaking her fist
And the Eagle will fly, and it’s gonna to be hell
When you hear Mother Freedom start ringing her bell
And it’ll feel like the whole wide world’s raining down on you.
Brought to you courtesy of the red, white, and blue.

Oh, of the red, white, and blue
Oh, of my red, white, and blue

Speak Your Mind!

